Pot Roast

   This isn’t gourmet, it ain’t Rocket Science. This is just simple, foolproof, slighty elegant, winter comfort food at it’s best. Pot Roast is traditionally a “Sunday” dish, but this week I went off the grid and made it for Monday supper.

   It all started last week when our tiny neighborhood market had a sign out front, “Buy a roast, get the fixin’s free”.  I started thinking about the savory, brown goodness, whipped a U-turn and went to claim my prize.

Hi there, Chuck!

Hi there, Chuck!

I chose a Chuck Roast (I am never happy with the way bottom round turns out). It was nearly $12.00 but with my $8.00 in free carrots, celery, potatoes and onions–I was still within my budget and ready to roll out this weeknight meal .

Step 1. Brown the meat! I always brown my beef before I use a slow cooker ’cause brown food just tastes better than gray food! Put in in a hot pan with a little olive oil and don’t move it til you have a nice brown crust (6-8 min). While this is happening I slice my onions thick, toss them with 1/4 cup of all purpose flour and throw them in the bottom of my pot. Turn it on low, turn your beef, now let’s make our flavor.

Brown is better!

Brown is better!

Step 2. The Slurry!  This is my Ancient Chinese Secret…I mean the way I make it taste amazing. I cheated this week with an envelope of Lipton Onion Soup mix- stirred up with coarse black pepper, chopped garlic, celery salt and Worst. I place my” hunka hunka browned burnin love” on the  onions in the crock, and spread the love that is my slurry. This way the garlic doesn’t burn and the flavor seaps all the way to the gravy train waiting at the bottom.

All Aboard the Gravy Train!

All Aboard the Gravy Train!

Step 3. Veg out! Ok, 4 hours have passed and my house smells amazing! I cut my celery into a fine dice and my carrots into coins–this would be the right time to add your taters–But I am gonna mash mine.

The Veg!

The Veg!

 

Step.4  Almost ready!  I decided tonight to boil and mash my potatoes, but you can quarter them  and put them in with your carrots. Dinner is 1/2 an hour away. I decide at the last minute to throw in a handful of frozen green beans. They will have plenty of time to cook, I like the green color and every veggie helps. I also crack open a tube of refrigerator biscuit dough and bake ’em off. They are great to sop up gravy with, or smear some jelly on and desert is taken care of tonight. (I go for the gravy…yummmmmm!)1-020 - Copy

Step.5  Let’s Eat!  This is our dinner–you want a slice?

Hmmm–I wonder what next Monday will bring?

Shopping List

  • 1  2 to 4 lb Chuck roast
  • 1 Tbsp Olive Oil
  • 2 Med Onions sliced
  • 1/4 cup All Purpose Flour
  • 1 envelope Lipton Onion Soup mix
  • 1 Tbsp Black Pepper
  • 3 cloves Garlic chopped
  • 1 Tbsp Celery Salt
  • 3 Tbps Worchestire Sauce
  • 3 Carrots sliced
  • 2  Celery stalks Chopped fine (leaves and all)
  • 1  cup Frozen Green Beans

2 thoughts on “Pot Roast

  1. All right ya big meanie thanks so much for making me hungry for roast at 814 pm when there isn’t a darn thing I can do about it 😉

Leave a Reply

