Daddy’s make the best weekend breakfast

When I was a little girl,I remember that  often I would wake up, smell cinnamon , walk into the kitchen and find my dad cooking  cinnamon pancakes and bacon. I knew it was special because this was the only time he cooked and I thought it was really neat.

This morning the same thing happened at my house and for my little girls. Jim was in the kitchen making chocolate chip pancakes and they thought it was great.

There’s no rush to get ready for school or eat your cold, dry cereal. Mom can take the morning off and chug cup after cup of hot coffee.

I heard  one of the kids say, “All the food that Dad makes is gross and disgusting except for his pancakes, they are the best”…

Jim’s pancake recipe

Ingredients

  • 1 1/2 cups flour
  • 3 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 tablespoon white sugar
  • 3 tbl spoons melted butter
  • 1 1/4 c milk
  • 1 egg
  • chocolate chips to taste

Instruction

  1. In a large bowl, mix together the flour, baking powder, salt and sugar. Mix in the milk, egg and melted butter; until smooth.
  2. Heat a lightly oiled griddle or frying pan over medium high heat (375). Pour or scoop the batter onto the griddle, using approximately 1/4 cup for each pancake. Brown on both sides and serve hot.

3 thoughts on “Daddy’s make the best weekend breakfast

  1. My dad always made the pancakes for us six kids growing up. He is 84 now, and still makes them when the family gets together. Nothing better!

Leave a Reply

