No, I didn’t grate fresh nutmeg into the batter

I like watching the food network. I find it calming, entertaining and I usually learn a thing or two.  But I’ve noticed over the years that during the shows the chefs seem to incorporate “the next big ingredient” into all their recipes. For example, nutmeg. You couldn’t possibly make anything taste better than by simply grating some fresh nutmeg into whatever dish you are preparing. Even if it is lasagna. Just grate some fresh nutmeg in it and oh my, you’ve never experienced a flavor explosion like this before.

The problem I have with the “it/popular” ingredient of the moment is that, A. I never have it on hand or can’t find it at my local grocery and B. sometimes I like the way the tried and true recipes of old taste, the way I remember them tasting.

So here is my,  go to,  easy to make, when you don’t have any sweets in the house and you want some comfort food, oatmeal cookies (without fresh grated nutmeg)…OAT 10

Ingredients

  • Butter, 1 cup – soft
  • Sugar, 1 cup – white
  • Brown sugar, 1 cup
  • Egg, 2
  • Vanilla, 1 teaspoon
  • Baking soda, 1 teaspoon
  • Flour, 2 cups
  • Salt, 1 teaspoon
  • Cinnamon, 1 1/2 teaspoon
  • Oats, 3 cups

Instructions

  1. In my mixer, goes the butter, white sugar and brown sugar. After that gets a goin’ toss in the eggs, then the vanilla. Then add the flour, baking soda, salt, and cinnamon; mix on low to a creamed mixture. Mix in oats (you can add chocolate chips or raisins).
  2. Preheat the oven to 375 degrees. Grease cookie sheets. Roll the dough into walnut sized balls. I don’t flatten mine cause I like em thick.
  3. Bake for 8 to 10 minutes in preheated oven. Allow cookies to cool on baking sheet for 2 minutes before you move em or eat them or you will burn the roof of your mouth and they’ll fall apart.

Just out of curiosity I went and typed in ” the next big food thing” on my google search and I guess its Peruvian food (and for those of you out there thinking its kale, that was so last year and already on its way out). Before you go buying and making a bunch of quinoa, maca, pisco and ceviche know that it can also be corn, potatoes, beans, tropical fruits and chiles.

Ps. did you also know that kids are getting high on grated fresh nutmeg (yet another reason to not follow trends) God help us all…

Honestly, Amy

 

One thought on “No, I didn’t grate fresh nutmeg into the batter

  1. Pingback: Cookies | familyrecipebooks

Leave a Reply

