A big ‘ole bowl of Bambi turns into a slice of humble pie

They announce at Church that they are hosting a Chili Cook–off the day after my birthday it is a fund-raiser for some charity–do I want to enter….YES PLEASE!

My mind starts to race…I think spicy, chicken..I even consider “Wisconsin Chili” (Cheddar Cheese Soup with Brats floating!) I then remember the timeless wisdom of KISS….Keep it simple stupid! I made vats and vats of Chili for the annual hunting crew…so I am gonna be real–I am gonna be me! I am the best cook  in my kitchen!….I make a spot on my mantle for the trophy…..It is mine!!!!1-SAM_1287

We get to the church–Chili all registered….there are these Manna Packs and pictures and video to watch. Then I remember this isn’t just the unveiling of what I think is the perfect bowl of Chili (a divine marriage of heat, sweet, spice and meat!) 100 percent of the proceeds are going to some feed-the-hungry thing…….

Then I see them…on the video…..these hairless little boys with bloated tummies and ribs showing, thrilled to get a cup of soy enriched rice once a day……I have these 3 boys at home that can polish off a gallon or 2 of milk each day.  3 eggs, bacon and oatmeal and oranges are often breakfast. They claim to be hungry if they haven’t eaten in an hour.  I hear on the video clip stories of parents giving their children dirt to eat to fill the void so they can sleep….. I am convicted, I am so blessed, I am humbled.

I didn’t win the trophy (I am still convinced that it might be due to hanging chads) but I did come away with this desire to help, this need to impress upon my children knowledge of the suffering in this world and a sense of gratitude for my Country, my Family and my God.

Here is a link to http://www.fmsc.org

and my Chili Recipe…..

I hope you come away grateful for what you have today.

A big 'ole bowl o' bambi

A big ‘ole bowl o’ bambi

a few table spoons of olive oil

2 lb ground venison (Yes you can use beef!)

1 can Chopotle in adobo (whirl it in the blender!)

1 lg onion chopped

4 cloves garlic

4 tablespoons Chili Powder (I use mild)  There is heat in the Choptle and I  don’t like a runny nose when I eat!

1 tsp oregano

1 tsp cumin

2 tablespoons brown sugar

1 tsp garlic powder

1 tsp onion powder

1 pinch red chili flake

1 tablespoon black pepper

1 tablespoon salt

1 4 oz can tomato paste

1 box beef broth

1 16 oz can tomato sauce

1 8 oz  can dark red kidney beans

1 8 oz  can light red kidney beans

1 8 oz  can great northern or white beans

14 oz can fire roasted diced green chilies

Brown your ground meat with 1/2 onion (nuttin better!) in the olive oil in a large stock pot or dutch oven. Remove and drain, add all the Bambi back in the pot. Sprinkle the spices and toss a bit. Now your can of tomato paste…..work in in and brown a bit til you smell tomato. Toss the other half of the onion and garlic into the pot. Deglaze with the beef stock–stir until combined. Now your tomato sauce and beans.  I add the Chipotle a teaspoon at a time, give it a bit of time to mix. I added 3 to get it just right for me. Bring to boil and reduce to simmer at least an hour…..the longer the better!

Into the slow cooker and off to Church I go!

Sincerely Sara

3 thoughts on “A big ‘ole bowl of Bambi turns into a slice of humble pie

Leave a Reply

