Arrrrgh-we have another snow day!

Pirate deck at Club Earl

We are weary of winter and have 2 more big storms on the way. I think these ideas work for sick days and rainy days too!

The day before I did visit the dollar store for a few treasures. I spent $8.oo for the day. Last week I DVR’d Hook, Peter Pan and like 9 or 10 Pirates of the Caribbean movies. I gathered scarves , eyeliner and costumes jewelry. I did a little menu planning — I was ready for a long snowy weekend.

We start our day early 4:45am…..can I get an ARRRRGH?

We started the day with octopus pancakes.1-SAM_1349

We have to do some chores to keep the scurvy at bay so we swabbed the Poop Deck (cleaned the bathrooms) and battened down the hatches (put our toys away) If they did a good job they got to “Walk the Plank” (jump from the couch into a pile of pillows and bean bags) It is a snow day so after 20 minutes of finding hats, scarves, gloves, coats, boots, etc I shoo them outside to eat snow and push it around with shovels. I start the hot cocoa and get the washer ready for the heaps of wet clothes that will greet me at the door.

1-SAM_1359After the outside fun we dress up in our Pirate garb!

My boys have never seen Peter Pan-(Whaaaaaaat?) so with Goldfish crackers and cocoa–they are happy to take it easy for a bit! I make fish sticks and pb celery for lunch.1-SAM_1350

These are a few of my $1 treasures. We colored fish and cut them out, glued them on blue construction paper then we covered them with plastic wrap to make aquariums. While I cleaned up the end of art we had a treasure hunt. (Wacky Wall Walkers and “Grow” Fish were the prizes.) We tried to talk the Pirate talk–aka “Lunch is ready me scallywags”. I am not gonna pretend that this was a perfect day–it wasn’t all Ho-Ho-Ho and I needed a bottle of Rum! I find that busy boys are better boys…so we kept going!

1-SAM_13511-SAM_1361

1-SAM_1353

While me Pirates were having a sword fight in the living room I get started on dinner.

Kid Friendly Shrimp Scampi with SeaWeed

Sea Foam Cup Cakes(Angel Food)

1-SAM_1355This gal loves Lenten fish specials! I always buy uncooked shrimp and you save a little if you peel and devein it yourself. Into a bowl or bag (you need to seal it) I add

2 lbs med shrimp, peeled and cleaned

4 cloves garlic minced

2 tablespoons Parsley

1 teaspoon salt

1 teaspoon Blk Pepper

1 pinch Red Pepper flake

1 teaspoon lemon juice.

I pop that back into the fridge.  I am boiling water for my pasta and making a Box Angel Food mix for our sea-foam Cup Cakes. (A vast me Hardies–I can’t do it all–I use cake mixes sometimes too!)

Drop your favorite pasta into salted water. When your Pasta is 4 min away from Al Dente,  heat 1/4 cup olive oil and 2 tablespoons of butter on Med High heat. Drop your shrimp and add 1 cup of fresh spinach and arugula (salad mix). Cook for about 3 min until shrimp is pink. Drain your pasta and serve. (Don’t throw us into Davy Jones Locker-but we like a little Parm on top!) I used old Halloween Scrapbook paper for placemats.

1-SAM_1368We ended the Pirate Day with RedVines and Pirates of the Caribbean for movie night. They all fell asleep before 8. I was gonna get up and get a picture-but I was too tired! I hope these ideas inspire some snow day fun for your house-wherever you are.

Sincerely, Sara

4 thoughts on “Arrrrgh-we have another snow day!

  1. Oh good grief I am exhausted just reading about your day. What a good mom you are to plan a theme day with activities.

Leave a Reply

