This quiche (sham) rocks!

Four leaf clover

Four leaf clover (Photo credit: ph4mp573r)

I was perusing Pinterest yesterday looking for some pinteration and I saw this shamrock shaped Quiché. I was all like, “I’m gonna make this and sisterslice  it up”

I love “themed” food and decorations to match the season or holiday. Just you wait until I share photos and “how to’s” from birthday parties gone by.

Maybe my real calling was to be a 2nd grade teacher with a room full of bulletin boards at my disposal or the person that paints weekly specials on the windows at the local grocery store. Who knows?

This is my take on a spinach and green onion Quiché. It turned out looking like a 4 leaf clover that was stepped on but it tasted like pure ambrosia. Jim ate almost half with dinner (can you say “training for biggest loser auditions”?) and the other half he ate for breakfast the next morning.

I got a few bites here and there and let me just say, “Y” to the um!

Spinach Shamrock Quiché

adapted from diamonds for dessert
green 9

Ingredients

  • 4 oz softened cream cheese
  • 1/3 cup half and half
  • 3 Large eggs
  • 10 oz package frozen chopped spinach, thawed and drained
  • 1/2 cup grated cheddar Gruyère cheese (you can use whatever cheese you have)
  • 1/4 cup grated Parmesan or the powder stuff
  • 4 to 6 green onions, thinly sliced (1/2 cup finely diced white onion work too)
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon pepper
  • pre made frozen pie crust (you get two in the package, might as well double the recipe and freeze one)

Instructions

  1. Take a pair of scissors and cut 4 slits into the pie pan and crust approximately 1/2 inch long at the North/South/East/West positions. Squeeze the cuts together to give you the shape of the shamrock. Be careful these can be sharp.
  2. Preheat oven to 425º
  3. In my Kitchen Aid I mixed the cream cheese, eggs, half-and-half, salt, and pepper.
  4. Add in the rest of the ingredients: spinach, Gruyère, parmesan, and onions. Mix a little more.
  5. Pour into the shaped pie crust pan, place the aluminum tins on a baking sheet and bake the Quiché for about 30 minutes.
  6. When it cooled a little, I carefully cut off the sides of the pan and lifted up with a large, flat spatula onto a plate to serve.

green 1

green 7

green 8

Honestly, Amy

3 thoughts on “This quiche (sham) rocks!

  1. I feel “obligated” to comment…yes, I did eat ALL of it and I am not ashamed…the biggest ‘plus’ about this blog is that I get to sample or taste all the GREAT! food that is created from it…”Y” for yum…

  2. Pingback: Ham Rolls | Off the Hook Cooking

  3. Pingback: Top O’ the mornin’ to you… | thesisterslice

Leave a Reply

