Reuben, Rachel & a Remix

The traditional corn beef and cabbage meal I made last week was darn good. It seems there is never enough meat in the recipe for our taste (even though I bought a 5lb brisket). When I saw that Aldi this week had the corn beef on sale for $1.99, I went right over there (with my own reusable grocery shopping bag) and bought another one.

This time I roasted it in a cooking bag in the oven (50 mins per pound).

IMG_3179

I left all the juices from the package in it and added the spices from the packet included.

After it was done cooking, I let it rest for 20 mins and then sliced it against the grain. I couldn’t resist sneaking bites of this spicy, fatty goodness.

Recently Updated

I had everything I needed to assemble the Reuben and Rachels (anybody else thinking of the song that you were taught in piano lessons?)

  • rye and pumpernickel bread or rolls
  • sauerkraut
  • swiss and provolone cheese
  • thousand island dressing
  • turkey and corn beef (I bought a package of Oscar Meyer carving board deli meat for the roasted turkey, I aint’ about to cook all that in one day).

Recently Updated1-001

Enjoy-

Honestly, Amy

Have you noticed everything these days is updated, revised, has the volume turned up or gets a makeover? Well I fell into that trap! For years now my Momma, then me and my sisters have made this Irish Boiled dinner once a year. My momma got the recipe out of that tried and true red and white checked cook-book we have all seen.  It was a big whoop when I was a kid–we were a 5 lbs of hamburger 2 chicken each week kinda family–corned beef was fancy, exotic, out of this world. I thought this year instead of that I would think outside the box and take it up a notch…here is what I did……..

corned beef in the crock pot, 4 cloves garlic, 4 tablespoons grainy mustard, spice pac and 3 bay leaves

corned beef in the crock pot, 4 cloves garlic, 4 tablespoons

grainy mustard, spice pac and 3 bay leaves

So instead of a boil I put it in the crock pot before church–a lot of recipes called for beer but I don’t like it and don’t need the calories…water and my spices. (see photo) 6 hours on low! The whole house smelled of beef!

The cabbage I cooked with 1 slice of browned bacon and the drippings, 2 tablespoon of sugar, 1 tablespoon apple cider vinegar and a pinch of salt….this was a great way to cook a 19 cent head of cabbage for a side dish!~

this was good...but not the same!

1-SAM_1399

1-SAM_1397

The beef was soft, sweet and suculant…..but I missed the soft cabbage and soothing broth! I added purple potatoes and some yeast rolls…it was bright and vibrant…but it didn’t feel like home!

lesson learned….sometimes, once a year, you need an oldie but goodie….

Next year I am making my Momma’s Irish Boiled Dinner. (And if I get a good deal on Corned Beef sooner I might sneak one in!)

Sincerely, Sara

4 thoughts on “Reuben, Rachel & a Remix

  1. Sometimes the ‘old fashion’ ways are just the best!!! Both recipes are fantastic. Those of us who have ‘leftovers’ these days like the boil first and then add the little extras for sandwiches. Love the purple potatoes.

  2. I need to make this dish for Dad & I. We would need to freeze leftovers as there’s now way we would eat it in a week. Having everyone (5) at the table added the best part to the meal. Love you gals!

  3. Pingback: Top O’ the mornin’ to you… | thesisterslice

Leave a Reply

