I’ve got your pot of gold right here!

Maybe I am just sick and tired of all the white stuff outside. Maybe between St Pats and Oz  Rainbows are just on my mind….I have said before that busy boys are better boys and we had another mini–blizzard this week and yet another snow day–so this is what we did!1-SAM_14112 box white cake mixes (I needed the box tops for Noah’s contest this month! ;)) We prepared according to the directions. (We had extra yolky omelets for breakfast that day!) I always add a teaspoon of vanilla and a pinch of salt too. Divide your batter into 6 cups evenly.1-SAM_1416This part the boys LOVED! A box of Great Value food color and we had a lesson in color blending. About 40 drops in each to make bright vibrant colors.1-SAM_1418I used my melon baller to scoop one of each color into my cup cake papers. While I was doing this I started thinking this would be a cool idea for other things as well. School colors, sports, showers and parties–you could make these extra special in a snap!1-SAM_1420Ready for the oven! 350 20 min. I made old fashion 7 min frosting to go on top. This is easy! 3/4 cup sugar, 1/3 cup White Kayro Syrup, 2 egg whites, 2 tablespoons water, 1/4 teaspoon cream of tartar, pinch of salt, dash of vanilla.  Mix together everything but the vanilla in the top of a double boiler, (ban marie) or Pyrex over simmering water. Beat with an electric mixer for 7 min. Remove from heat add vanilla. Thick, white creamy goodness!

1-SAM_1436Now isn’t that a thing of beauty!  Cupcakes are often simply a frosting delivery vehicle at our house-but these are so cheerful and fun! The hubs calls them Grateful Breads!1-SAM_1432I hope you give these a try for your next party, fundraiser or rainy day!

Sincerely, Sara

5 thoughts on “I’ve got your pot of gold right here!

  1. Sara you truly make the most sincere treats…your boys (and husband) ought to be superduper appreciative of your “gift” of giving…these “cakes” looked colorful and yummy…looking forward to Amy’s version.

  2. Pingback: Top O’ the mornin’ to you… | thesisterslice

Leave a Reply

