I am in deep…. the MOB

1-get_imgI was a pretty quiet girl–not a princess but I did enjoy my Rub-a-Dub Dolly and my Easy Bake Oven. I wished and day dreamed my days away and tried to keep my little sister out of trouble. I was gonna marry my best friend’s older brother, have 5 beautiful daughters all with names beginning with E.

Well PTL that didn’t pan out! I am da Capone in dis here joint. I am da Mother oBoys!

Say Hello to my little friend

Say Hello to my little friend

When I first learned that Wiseguy #1 was on the way, I thought, “Ok, I will teach him to be sweet and kind and he will be my right hand man!” Well, from the moment we first met he has been a mystery to me–a tough nut to crack. We mix like oil and water most of the time and I have no clue how his mind works or how to reach him some days.

My cousin Vinny

My cousin Vinny

Hoodlum #2 came a few days before Christmas in a crazy blizzard. He is sweet and happy and has a big heart! He is HUGE and a Ramrod and has the worst case of middle-childitis I have ever seen!

When it looked like we were going to add another member to the “Family Business” I worried–was there even room for a poor, little girl? We got word that Gangster #3 was cooking I knew I had been marked for a whack!

I am gonna make you a deal you can't refuse

I am gonna make you an offer you can’t refuse

Don’t you think it is a little screwy that God would give a woman a little man to raise? I don’t get it sometimes–How did I get fingered for this job? These Goodfella’s of mine–I am trying a bit every day. I snuggle them whenever they come around–which is less and less as the years go by. I make a big deal when they share their loot or bring me treasure. I say I love you often and show real gratitude when they tell me. I give them lots of chances to help me and show me their muscles. I praise them–I am trying to raise them to be gentle giants who will someday rule the world.  Along with this great gift and responsibility comes some fine print that makes me NUTS!1-054

  • They are hard on everything–like all their clothes should be gray and disposable. A pair of concrete overshoes don’t sound half bad some times!  They are slobs and they like it that way! I wouldn’t be surprised if I found a horse head in their bed during my weekly dig out!  They are loud–like a get kicked out of a juke-joint for being too LOUD, LOUD!
  • They are messy–like drain the tub and fill it again–they would love the sound of a dirt nap!
  • They are gross–Boogers and Burps and Farts–Oh My!1-271SANYO DIGITAL CAMERASANYO DIGITAL CAMERA

I get knowing smiles from women with grown sons and old men chuckle and wink when they see me with my brood. Chances are these tough guys will be taller, stronger and hairier than I soon. I am trying…really, really trying to remember that with the Lego’s everywhere comes the love, that somewhere under all the mud there is magic. These are MY little boys for just a bit, and I was MADE to be their Momma–Kapeesh?!

Sincerely, Sara

11 thoughts on “I am in deep…. the MOB

  1. Touching my heart this morning. You are doing a wonderful job as MOB. I have to admit your guys are boys on steroids! Love them but don’t think I could mother them at this point in my life. You are building men and this old world needs good men!!!

  2. Remember….now you might be the “MOB” but soon when your short-legs grow to be men…you will reach the acclaimed status of “MOM.” It might be to late then, but remember every boy and young man needs their mom.

    • Mom your blog is growing and growing. You are the best and you will be the best because you just been yourself and did all you wanted. I hope your dream of having a big blog with tons of fans from over the world will come true. I love you!
      ~ Lucy Seward

  3. Aunt Sara,
    your blog is growing and growing. You are the best and you will be the best because you just been yourself and did all you wanted. I hope your dream of having a big blog with tons of fans from over the world will come true. I love you!
    ~ Lucy Seward

  4. From one MOB to another – Love my boys, life is good and yes, sooner than you think they’ll be looking “down” to you, but with just as much admiration and love. They say we have our place in heaven… 😉

  5. Pingback: March Madness | thesisterslice

Leave a Reply

