Between Mayberry and Mayhem

doneI live in a part of the world where there are still grannies named Irma, Marge and Mona–Farmers save their good Dickies for Church on Sunday and date night at the bowling alley on Friday nights.  Everybody knows you are lost or don’t belong here if you don’t do the 2 finger steering wheel wave when you pass a car on a 2 lane.

I told you all last week I was cooking my way thru these old Farm Food cookbooks I have. I found a recipe I was gonna try for April Fool’s Day…well I have been busy!!

I went to gather the ingredients for this cake at the local tiny grocery–I put Cocoa, eggs, sugar, Swans Down and sauerkraut on the counter and Mona said to me to over her glasses, “Hmmm you are making a German chocolate cake ehh?” What? How’d she know? She asked me if there are any coconuts in Germany?!

Chocolate Sauerkraut Cake

2/3 cup butter

1 cup sugar

1/2 cup brown sugar

3 eggs (room temp)

2 1/4 cup cake flour

1 teaspoon baking powder

1 teaspoon baking soda

1 teaspoon salt

1/2 cup cocoa

1 cup ice-cold water

1/2 cup drained,  chopped Sauerkraut

2 teaspoons vanilla

 Preheat oven to 350. Cream butter and sugar together until creamy. Add eggs and stir in flour, soda, powder,salt and cocoa. Mix in water kraut and vanilla. Pour into a buttered 9×13. Bake 45 min or until the toothpick is clean. (I used my pretty tower Bundt pan.)

into the oven

The house smells great–the way it does when a chocolate cake it baking. My food critic 4-year-old licked the bowl just fine. I washed the mixer and whipped up simple chocolate frosting.

Frosting

1 stick butter

1/2 cup cocoa

1 cup powdered sugar

2 teaspoons vanilla

2 teaspoons milk

pinch of salt

cake

40 minutes later…looking good!

Ta-dah! It came out just fine when cooled!

We like a light glaze of frosting here at the Hanson Mansion–wink wink.

I need a glass of milk!

It was a good cake, not super sweet and a bit spicy–like it has allspice or cinnamon in there.  We don’t have dessert every night so it made our chicken legs seem special.

I hope if you need a conversation starter, bake-sale stand out, Ocktober Fest closer or special weeknight treat-give it a try-I dare ya!

Sincerely, Sara

2 thoughts on “Between Mayberry and Mayhem

  1. Pingback: All about April – We’re all over the place! | thesisterslice

Leave a Reply

