In my world-meatballs mean “I Love You”

meatballs

Can I just say, marriage is hard! Most girls (including me) and Disney–had this idea that the “happily ever after” was the end–the trophy. It really is just the beginning of an Ironman triathlon and it seems to me like it is bits of “for better” and bits of “for worse” with a lot of hard work in between. I am not down on marriage–I was made for this gig, but I sometimes cringe when I hear or see young girls being bridezilla’s or Princesses–’cause there just ain’t a lot of that in the real world.

My Hubs and I married in our mid 30’s. We were selfish then, but we have come a long way baby!  Entering the sands of the arena of parenthood and suffering together makes you grow! We are constantly learning to really love each other and to learn to communicate. I am good at care taking and I know how to spoil these boys and their dad! The hubs is great earning and working–but spoiling doesn’t come easy for him.

I love, love, love to go to ethnic grocery stores (kinda like some gals like shoes) Asian, Russian, Jewish, Mexican and Italian! I find inspiration, education, bargains and treasure every time I find one. When we lived near Des Moines, Iowa I found one called A Taste of Italy (check them out on FB)! I got some pasta, cheese, olive oil and I picked up a few pounds of wedding soup sized meatballs…OH! They are probably the most delicious things I think I have ever had. I love to cook and I have tried to replicate these babies…but I can’t!!! I swear they are made with soil from the old country, ground up Italian grandmama’s and crack! If you are ever near, don’t miss a chance to getcha some! I have even ordered cases to be sent to Wisconsin in the winter…sigh, those meatballs!

Last week the hubs had a trip to southwest Iowa he had to make. When he got home he told me he had a surprise for me…hmmm. Not flowers, jewelry or perfume. My Hubs had made a special detour into the city (something I know he despises) to bring me meatballs!  Isn’t he romantic?!

Here is my recipe for…….

Easy Cheesy Garlicy Bread

meatballs2

1 loaf take and bake ciabatta bread

1 clove garlic, peeled, raw and cut in half

2 tablespoons butter

4 slices provolone

1/4 grated Parmesan

1 teaspoon garlic salt

1 teaspoon pepper

1 teaspoon dried parsley

Split your loaf, rub each side with raw garlic and spread thinly with the softened butter.

Cover with your cheese and spices. Place under the Broiler on high for 4-6 min–checking often! Enjoy!

I pretend I am Italian Gravy

2 tablespoons olive oil

1 half onion chopped

2 cloves garlic

2 tablespoons tomato paste

2 tablespoons anchovi paste or 2 fillets

1 large can crushed tomatoes

pinch red pepper flakes

1 tablespoon dried italian seasoning

1 tablespoon brown sugar

salt and pepper

In a large pan saute onion and garlic in olive oil until soft, add paste and brown a bit (cook until you smell tomatoes) then your tomotoes. Sprinkle in your spices and herbs. Bring to boil reduce to simmer about 20 min.

Add as many of those meatballs as you can and enjoy!

(Psssst my secret ingredient is….LOVE!)

meatball love

Sincerely, Sara

Leave a Reply

