How do you solve a problem like Maria?

nuns

Does God work in mysterious ways or does he sometimes just work really quick and not so mysterious? Sometimes is it actually very straight forward? I think the answer is, YES!

16 months ago we moved from Davenport, Iowa to Fort Dodge, Iowa. We left our friends, family and church that we loved because Jim got a job here running a youth shelter. This job for Jim allowed me to be able to stay at home with my girls, something I have always wanted (when I say always I mean most of the time, when/if things are going well).

We found a home here to lease and it provided us with safety, comfort and a mantle (the necessities of life). The owners of this house decided to sell it and not renew the lease. As you would expect from such a deep, committed Christian that has seen God work miracles in her life and the life of her daughter you would expect my first response to be – well, it was panic and anger…

Anyway I began to search for another rental here in town that would that meet our needs and I soon realized that it did not exist. And it’s not just that I’m picky, I’m talking there are no 3 or more bedroom homes with 2 toilets to rent in Fort Dodge… Jim and I began to pray and included the kids in focused prayer, asking God to give us a place, the perfect place to live and to do it soon. You know that other saying that goes, “God is never late but rarely early” well, that’s true too.

family-prayer_0

Just in time, here it is – our new home…

DSC_0002

What’s up with the cross you ask? This house was once a convent.

The Coventry house was built in 1957 to house the nuns that taught at the catholic school next door. It is about 3500 square feet and features a library, small chapel, priests closet/confessional, kitchen, Dining room, Living room, 8 bedrooms, 2 1/2 baths, full basement and large yard.

It was converted into offices a decade ago and has sat empty for a year or more. It’s about to be restored into a single family home. Our home!

I’m thanking God for what he provides and that he ALWAYS has taken care of his own. I’m also super excited to decorate this haunted mansion. I think I’ll keep the confessional, the girls are well on their way to being mischievous preteens..

I’ll be doing a bunch of before and afters and DIY/CR (do it yourself/catholic remodeling) projects along the way.

Honestly, Amy

PS we just bought a big ole communion table for a tv stand.

12 thoughts on “How do you solve a problem like Maria?

  1. Praising and love watching Him work in the lives around me and my life. He is able to do above and beyond anything we ask or need…..so fresh in the freedom of Christ.

  2. Pingback: All about April – We’re all over the place! | thesisterslice

  3. Pingback: Queen for a Day! | thesisterslice

  4. Pingback: Going once, going twice… your life – It’s all just stuff | thesisterslice

  5. Pingback: The last of summer and 77 out of 100 ain’t bad | thesisterslice

  6. Pingback: My Mid-Century Modern Miracle | thesisterslice

Leave a Reply

