Tonight, I try Thai on a Tuesday!

takeoutI am fearless (in the kitchen)! Otherwise I am a big chicken, mmmmchicken. One of the blessings or curses of living in the sticks is that Take Out is not really an option!  I want to show these boys the world and until they are ready for international  travel the dinner table is my best option.SAM_1733

I watch a few cooking shows and they are all cooking Thai food…makin’ my mouth water!

I do this on a busy weeknight for a few reasons…we gotta eat, I like a challenge and I am insane! It really wasn’t any more work than spaghetti and it really hit the spot! I cheated a little and tried a few new things. Most of the ingredients I had on hand, a few I found in itty-bitty Dodgeville. I forgot limes…so we used lemons…these country boys never knew the difference.

I did my prep this afternoon, the calm before the home-from-school storm. While I was chopping and slicing to my favorite music I thought nothing that smells this good and looks this pretty could turn out bad!

SAM_1738

I made my spring rolls first and chilled them in the fridge with the dipping sauce–I am not a chef and I have never done this before–and I didn’t do too bad! Don’t be scared, come with me, there is a flavor explosion at the end of this ride!

Ginger Poached Shrimp Spring Roll

1 lb shrimp (uncooked fresh or frozen any size) tail off, peeled and deveined.

1 package Rice Paper (I get mine at World Market, but Hy-Vee has ’em too!)

1 can Bean Sprouts (you will use half in the rolls and the rest in the noodle dish)

1 red pepper sliced thin (same as above)

2 carrots, grated or match stick

1/2 cucumber, grated, sliced thin or match stick

Cilantro Leaves 3 leaves per roll (and 1/4 cup  for the noodle dish as well)

3 green onion thinly chopped

2 “coins” ginger (unpeeled for poaching)

2 cloves garlic (smashed for poaching)

1/2 onion (peeled for poaching)

Chopping

Finely chop and assemble on a platter, Green onion, Cucumber, Carrot, Red Bell Pepper, canned Bean Sprouts, Cilantro Leaves (leave whole, remove from stem)

Poaching

Place your Onion, Ginger Coins, Garlic in a large pan of simmering  water. Simmer 5 minutes. Drop shrimp into water and cover 3 min until pink. Remove to ice water to stop cooking. Remove and chill until ready to use.

Rolling

In a large serving bowl with very hot tap water run your  rice paper through the water (I do it like a steering wheel, making 2 complete circles) IMMEDIATELY  remove and fill with 3 of your shrimp, 3 cilantro leaves and a few carrots, cucumber, onion, pepper and bean sprouts. Bring your 2 sides together and do the “Burrito” roll. Cover with a damp paper towel and keep in the fridge while you keep rolling. It is all worth the effort and not as hard as it sounds once you get set and rolling.

Dipping

In a medium bowl combine, 1/4 cup peanut butter, 1/4 cup hoisin sauce, 1 tablespoon fish sauce, 1 tablespoon soy sauce, 3-5 drops Shirracha (hot sauce), 1 tablespoon brown sugar. Microwave 45 seconds on high, mix well with a fork and chill before serving. Add a few drops of fresh lime or lemon juice to thin the sauce a bit before dipping! YUM!

Menu Flavors

This is where I cheat…a little. Heck, I just poached shrimp and rolled spring rolls, give me a break! I mix 2 packages according to package directions. In a large saute pan I brown 1 pound ground pork. (I would try chicken here I think too)!  When my meat is browned and drained I add  1/2 cup chopped red bell pepper, 2 cloves garlic minced, 1/4 cup chopped red onion, 2 tablespoons grated fresh ginger, 1/4 cup grated carrots, 1/4 cup chopped cilantro.  Dump in the rest of  your bean sprouts from your spring rolls. Cook a few moments ’til your veg starts to soften and you smell your garlic and herb. Add your meat and Veg to your Knorr prepared Thai Sweet Chili Noodles! This is a perfect week night dinner-nice enough for company too! I garnish my noodle dish with a few fresh cilantro leaves, a dash of soy and fish sauce  and a sprinkle of peanuts!

SAM_1740

This stuff is good! Good for dinner, Good for lunch, good for 10:30 at night when you can’t sleep,  oops–I over shared again didn’t I?

SAM_1739

I hope you give this a try for an easy, family friendly meal! Do you have any homemade “take-out” recipes that your family loves?

Sincerely, Sara

4 thoughts on “Tonight, I try Thai on a Tuesday!

  1. Pingback: T. M(ay).I. | thesisterslice

  2. Pingback: Pad Thai for the Pastor | thesisterslice

Leave a Reply

