Why we love Lilacs

lilcas

When we were young, we lived in an old house on the south side of Kankakee, IL. Our shared bedroom was in a converted  porch surrounded with windows. Outside of those window were 3 different, giant lilacs bushes. When the weather warmed and we would sleep with the windows open, every time the breeze would make our “Spirit of 76” curtains dance (Yeah very trendy in the 70’s kinda like the chevron of today!) our room would be filled with the soft, sweet perfume of lilac.

We both love how the scent brings us back to our carefree, little girl days. For Mother’s Day our Mom gave me this candle from Bath and Body Works. It is as close to perfect as I have ever found. It is in my kitchen window. Lit or not I get just a whiff while doing my busy work and for just a moment I am back, with my sister and family in that little house.

Lilac Blossom 14.5 oz. 3-Wick Candle - Slatkin & Co. - Bath & Body Works

Isn’t it amazing how a smell can take you on a trip through the years?

Sincerely, Sara  &  Honestly, Amy

4 thoughts on “Why we love Lilacs

  1. Yes! The smells, sounds, music carry you back to childhood even more the older we get! My dwarf lilacs are blooming today!

  2. Oh my gosh I can’t believe you posted this. I LOVE lilacs – my absolute favorite flower! Same reason, too… oooh the smell and oooh the childhood memories! I used to pick them from our neighbors tree (with permission of course) and bring them home in a big bouquet for my mother! Now… I have one tree like the one in your photo and then last year I planted 3 of the heavy deep dark purple ones outside my side door. They are blooming now and I’m out there every day sniffing them! Haha… I wish they lasted all summer long, don’t you?!

  3. I wonder if we would like they were as special if we got to smell them all year long! I always feel rich when I have a giant bunch in a vase on my table for a day or so…. Happy Day! Stop and smell the lilacs!

Leave a Reply

