I have confidence in sunshine – Electricians too!

i have confidence

Time to choose and have installed 24 light fixtures. All different sizes and shapes, some for the outside and some with fan blades (we’re a bunch of sweaters around here) and ALL on a tight, little budget.

I do some research, but in the end  find that the big box stores have a decent selection plus I save gas and time by not trotting off to the state capitol for “fancy schmancy”.

I’ve been blessed to pick out fixtures twice now for an entire house and both times I really tried to stay true to the character of the house style and not trends of the day.

IMG_4721

Since this “home” was built in 1957, I think about the fixtures in my Grandparents house. My pa built his modern brick ranch in ’58  and the light fixtures in the bedrooms are one of the things that I remember. I remember them mostly because when I would spend the night, I would lay awake for what seemed like forever staring at them while trapped in the crisp, clean, military made bed – fighting sleep to due to the massive amounts of nut clusters and ice cream I had just ingested before bed.

A trip to the Fort Dodge restore does not disappoint (for this item only), I find quite a few of the “old” glass, simple, square/circle solid ceiling lights. At $4 each these will meet our needs and are affordable. However, I do have to say that you can purchase similar style, new for $9. But the new ones are made cheaply in China verses up-cycling the vintage, well made ones. I also like to think that these old fixtures are meant to be put back in the house.

2013-05-23

The ceiling fan’s are a must if you use your air conditioning sparingly. Even though every designer on HGTV hates them and their first order of business is usually to remove them. I like the way the fans cool off a room full of folks, helps waft the scent of my candles throughout the space – so multi-functional.

Originally the kitchen light was another one I wanted to “rescue” from the restore in town.DSC_0046 I planned to spray the casing with cherry red spray paint (I love spraypaint). I asked them to hold it as they only accept cash or check and I only carry my debit card with me. I was a bit perturbed, who only accepts those two forms of payment – what is this 1991? Needless to say when I returned a few days later it was gone. I moved forward but still think of it… I found this one and I really think it works good in the space and gives more light. Function over form is the right thing to do!

IMG_4658

All the fixtures flow throughout the convent, mostly polished chrome or frosted glass, white. With the exception of a couple of rooms. The Master (said in a snobby British accent) is Moroccan and so I got espresso stained fans with a woven wood look, trying for texture.

The downstairs bath I chose to keep the brass because I painted it a charcoal navy and I’m trying out the Kristin Cadwallader look from Bliss-athome.com She’s a friend of mine and her blog is much more juje than mine. Actually when I saw the brass fixtures that helped me choose the paint color and the styling will be a ‘lil eclectic.

IMG_4713

MY favorite is the Dining room. I picked out this because it said modern, timeless, swanky. It looks a little period – doesn’t it? I knew I didn’t want Liz Taylor crystal chandelier but I didn’t want Brad Pitt design either…

IMG_4655

I can’t wait to have the “move that bus” moment with you all.

I want to incorporate a lil convent history into a room somewhere. What does that look like? I’d appreciate any help or feedback. Here’s a thought to get the ball rolling…

Think rosary for ceiling fan pulls, St Jude candles and a  communion table for a tv stand, etc…IMG_4722

Honestly (but not Catholic) Amy

Oh, and in case you want to sing the song – here are the lyrics… You’re welcome!

I Have Confidence by Maria
What will this day be like? I wonder.
What will my future be? I wonder.
It could be so exciting to be out in the world, to be free
My heart should be wildly rejoicing
Oh, what’s the matter with me?

I’ve always longed for adventure
To do the things I’ve never dared
And here I’m facing adventure
Then why am I so scared

A captain with seven children
What’s so fearsome about that?

Oh, I must stop these doubts, all these worries
If I don’t I just know I’ll turn back
I must dream of the things I am seeking
I am seeking the courage I lack

The courage to serve them with reliance
Face my mistakes without defiance
Show them I’m worthy
And while I show them
I’ll show me

So, let them bring on all their problems
I’ll do better than my best
I have confidence they’ll put me to the test
But I’ll make them see I have confidence in me

Somehow I will impress them
I will be firm but kind
And all those children (Heaven bless them!)
They will look up to me

And mind me with each step I am more certain
Everything will turn out fine
I have confidence the world can all be mine
They’ll have to agree I have confidence in me

I have confidence in sunshine
I have confidence in rain
I have confidence that spring will come again
Besides which you see I have confidence in me

Strength doesn’t lie in numbers
Strength doesn’t lie in wealth
Strength lies in nights of peaceful slumbers
When you wake up — Wake Up!

It tells me all I trust I lead my heart to
All I trust becomes my own
I have confidence in confidence alone
(Oh help!)

I have confidence in confidence alone
Besides which you see I have confidence in me!

4 thoughts on “I have confidence in sunshine – Electricians too!

  1. Way to go, Girl! Looks like greatchoices without breaking your budget. Don’t think I would use rosaries for ceiling fan pulls! A couple great Scriptures on the wall would fit the past and present in this house!

  2. Pingback: T. M(ay).I. | thesisterslice

  3. Pingback: Going once, going twice… your life – It’s all just stuff | thesisterslice

Leave a Reply

