Do you see what I see?

SAM_1881

I love the smell of earth and tomato plants–like if it was a perfume I would wear it.  Summer is so special, so brief, so full of activity, fun and memories. I still feel a thrill when I fly a kite. I still smile when I see the first lightning bug (and grimace when I swat the first mosquito). 
 
When I look at this I see a miracle! I see cook-outs and reunions. I see evenings at the lake and afternoons at the pool. I smell charcoal and sunscreen. Chalk and bubbles and church softball leagues. Flip-flops and sundresses and  freckles across my nose.
 
I see my G’ma Betty canning the buckets of bounty Pa would produce. I hear the cicadas and lawn mowers. I feel the sun on my neck and the wind in my hair. I can taste the salsa and salads and BLT’s and s’mores and Iowa sweet corn and watermelon and everything else the full summer harvest has to offer.
 
I see a gift–magic, an unwritten story and another chance to make memories to last a lifetime.
 
Happy Supper…oops–I mean Happy Summer!
 
Sincerely, Sara
 
 
 
 

 

5 thoughts on “Do you see what I see?

Leave a Reply

