Serving time together

I do enjoy cooking large quantities of food. I’m all like, if your gonna buy it, chop it, saute it, bake it, serve it, clean it up – you might as well make enough for tonight and lunch tomorrow and the neighbor, etc.

I see on my facebook feed that our assistant Pastor’s wife is asking if anyone is interested in preparing a dish for the local men’s shelter. She said she would pick it up and drop it off. I also see that the responses aren’t abundant. I volunteer and think, “I’m such a good person” I also decided that my two oldest daughters will come along and we’ll all help serve.

I’m thinking comfort food, it’s been raining for what seems like 40 days and 40 nights and I want to make something that will stick to your ribs.

Ham & beans, heart shaped cornbread muffins, sloppy joe’s, meatloaf and a chicken, sun-dried tomatoes, mushroom over penne pasta in a garlic cream sauce thang…

Got the girls from school, forced them to do their homework in lightening speed, called Jim and ordered him home to be my pack mule and loaded up the van. I wasn’t sure what to expect but I did my best to tell the girls what to expect, what to do and what not to say.

The thing is people are people, homeless or homed. Everybody is hungry at the dinner hour. It makes me happy when I feed people. My middle, mini me child looked up at me after filling someone’s plate and said, “mama, I like making people happy”. We experienced together the greatest gift you can receive is the feeling you get when you give to others.

I can’t believe there are hungry people around us..surrounded by all this food.

I can’t imagine not having a home, a kitchen, a meal…

I can’t wait to do this again!

And this is what Lyla was up to the whole time… had the time of her life.

This really is what I call a Happy Meal!

Honestly, Amy

 

5 thoughts on “Serving time together

  1. Pingback: Summer Schedule – 8 days a week | thesisterslice

  2. Pingback: 100 things to do this summer | thesisterslice

Leave a Reply

