Tex-Mex Rice–Nice!

English: Nabisco PREMIUM Saltines

I have a hard time with left overs. I send some with the hubs to eat on his night shift. I heat and eat some for lunch. I freeze some for my folks or my friends…but it never seems nice-twice.

I told my family I loved them–but please–do not take me out to eat on Mother’s Day. Crazy? Hear me out…the idea of waiting 40 minutes with 3 hungry kids and a husband who has never been accused of having too much patience, only to pay way too much for ok food, trying to feed the baby Saltines, waiting for our lunch and having at least one kid spill a drink is NOT my idea of fun.

This year for Mom’s Day I made a brisket, a huge 35 pound baby and shared it with my sister- in- law (the mother of 6 herself) and a few more of the Hubs family. I cooked it in the oven at 200 for 14 hours the day before. (that my friends, is a post for another day). I wrapped it up and searched the cupboards for a few simple sides to feed a crowd. I found I had everything for simple Cowboy Potatoes. Everyone has had these a time or two I am sure.

Cowboy Potatoes (aka Christmas Potatoes, Funeral Potatoes, Dish to Pass Potatoes.)

Western Story Magazine (October 22, 1921) ... ...

2 bags Ore-Ida Potatoes O’Brien

2 cups sour cream

1 can cream of celery soup + 1 can of milk

4 cups cheddar cheese (mix in 2 cups and add 2 cups on top the last 15 min in the oven

Salt and pepper.

Mix it all together, pour into greased 9×13 baking pan. Bake at 375 45 min, add reserved cheese and bake 15 minutes more.

Done-I think it took all of 3 minutes to mix that up!

I needed something else…

We had our weekly steak taco night (Cinco De Mayo) the night before so I had a shelf full of  left overs…With a little inspiration, canned soup and divine intervention…this is what I created.

I simply mixed all the left-over taco night goodness.

2 cups Spanish rice

1 can black beans

1 cup chopped “Taco” steak

1 cup salsa

1/2 cup grilled bell peppers and onion, chopped fine

1 /2 cup sour cream

1/2 cup cheese

1 can cream of onion soup + 1 cup milk

Mix and pour into creased 9×13 baking dish. Bake at 375 45 min. Add 1 cup cheese or crushed tortilla chips and bake 15 min more

SAM_1870

So there they are. I baked those off before church. I added the brisket to the oven and kept it all warm at 175 while we went to church. We delivered dinner to his family and spent the afternoon watching the cousins play, reading the Sunday paper and catching up–now that is my idea of a good time.

This is so good I have made it 2 times since then. I rolled it up in large flour tortillas and popped it in the freezer for a burrito emergency! (what-am I the only one who has those?) The second time I warmed it and spooned it over romaine with a bit more salsa for a really yummy salad.

What do you do with left overs? What are your secrets?

Sincerely, Sara

4 thoughts on “Tex-Mex Rice–Nice!

  1. Love the sound of your tex mex dish.. Yum! In our house, I throw leftover cooked meat and gravy in a pot with veg, rice or barley and make soup, or put it in the freezer for later meals. Leftover frozen pork gets used in fried rice, chicken in curries, pasta or on pizza, etc, and even leftover beef/steak can be thrown in pasta or a quick rogan josh. Not much gets wasted at our house either. Of course, we also like to cook enough to eat the same meal more than one night in a row… It cuts down on decision making at dinner time.

Leave a Reply

