Tales from the Pork side…

welcome

I showed you our hog roast and I thought you might want to know what we made to make our meal complete.  I wanted to visit with my family and show them a bit of my world around, AND I was roasting a hog so I needed easy, simple and delicious side dishes I could whip up in the morning and forget about. I wanted some hot and some cold and all affordable and fool-proof. This was our Menu…and the recipes (you’re welcome).

Roast Hog

Cowboy Beans

1 pounds ground meat (beef, pork,venison, turkey) browned. 1 large white onion chopped and added to the browning meat. 2 cans white beans (navy cannelloni) 2 cans pinto beans, 2 cans kidney beans, Drained well.  1/4 cup brown sugar, 1/4 cup maple syrup, 1/2 cup ketup, 1/4 cup yellow mustard, 1 tablespoon black pepper, 1/2 teaspoon cayenne or 1 teaspoon Shirracha, 1 teaspoon salt, 2 tablespoon apple cider vinegar. 1/2 cup (about 4 slices) bacon crumbled and reserved until the end. Mix it all and drop it into a Crock Pot on low 6 hours. Add crumbled bacon about 1/2 hour  before serving. YUM – this is a meal all by itself and feeds a gang.

DSC_0033

Mess O’ Green Beans

Use fresh or frozen green beans–I like Trader Joe’s frozen Haricot vert (skinny green beans) they are affordable and I can have them in my freezer ready and waiting. I dump 3 bags of the beans into the crock pot with 2 boxes chicken broth, 1 medium red or white onion finely chopped, 1 tablespoon black pepper, 2 tablespoons apple cider vinegar, 2 tablespoons brown sugar. 4 sliced crumbled bacon (reserved til right before serving). I don’t add salt usually because of the broth and bacon–so be careful and season to taste. Give this a stir, turn it to low and come back in 4 to 6 hours for a tasty, warm, savory side dish.

DSC_0032

Elliott Potato Salad

My Momma brought our favorite potato salad and that was just great! One less thing to worry about and everybody was so happy to see  the old favorite!

DSC_0030

Tangy Tarragon Slaw

Chop 1 large head of green cabbage and 1 small head of red cabbage as finely or coarsely as you like. I kept this bigger  because it was going to sit all day and I didn’t want it soggy. Shred 2 large carrots. Mix 1 cup of Mayo (this is a great use up for the bottom of the jar)!  1/2  cup tarragon vinegar (apple cider vinegar works too)! 1/2 cup sugar, 2 tablespoon black pepper and salt, 1/4 cup fresh tarragon if you have it growing in the garden!  Pour over dressing (I like to shake it all in my mayo jar and chill until ready) toss and chill! Toss once more before dinner.

DSC_0031

Alotta Pasta Salad

Boil 2 pound of  hefty pasta–any shape you choose. Cook 2 minutes shy of  al dente. Drain and rinse with cold water and drain again.  I added 2 cups chopped summer sausage, 2 cups cubed cheddar cheese, 1 cup chopped red pepper, 1 cup chopped celery, 1 cup chopped cucumber, 1 cup chopped carrots, 1 /2 cup chopped onions. We like a little pasta with our goodies. I have added olives and broccoli in the past as well. Mix 1 cup Mayo, 1 cup sour cream, 1 cup milk with 1 envelope Hidden Valley Ranch dressing. Season well with salt and black pepper. I also chop a bit of everything growing in my herb garden. We used Parsley, Dill and Pineapple Sage….  Mix well and chill!

DSC_0029Tri-State Corn Muffins

This is our homage to Texas, Iowa and Wisconsin. We took simple corn muffin mix, mixed according to directions but we added frozen Iowa sweet corn, Wisconsin sharp cheddar and jalapeno (wave to Texas). A dab of butter on that and your mouth will be happy! Add some Bread and Butter pickles and ‘Tater Chips and you have I think the perfectly rounded Hog Roast vittles!

DSC_0053

Our Front Yard

I hope these look as good to you as it did to us–try one or try them all and tell us what you think! We had a great Hog Roast and can’t wait to do it again!

Sincerely, Sara

(I think my pants were a little snug after this one!)

3 thoughts on “Tales from the Pork side…

  1. Pingback: The Last Supper | thesisterslice

  2. Pingback: The last of summer and 77 out of 100 ain’t bad | thesisterslice

Leave a Reply

