I beg your pardon, you never promised me a rose garden but you did say you’d help me with my flower bed

I get super overwhelmed when I go into a nursery. No, not a baby nursery–I’m fine in there. I’m talking about a garden center. I love the way flowers look and I swoon over fresh garden vegetables but I don’t know my annuals from my perennials, my herbs from my weeds,what loves shade or what loves the sun. I usually choose petunias, cheery, safe petunias. I guess it’s the same feeling a person who doesn’t cook  feels when they have to try a new recipe in the kitchen.

That’s what is so wonderful about a friend or a sister that is different from you, they teach, explain, lead the way — open up your life to new things and it is so easy for me to learn that way.

I’ve lived here 18 months and have never been to the towns local nursery. I’ve driven by it a bunch but today with sister Sara and all 6 kids in tow, we braved a new world.

IMG_5865

2013-07-05

Sara said,” pick some herbs and anything else you want” I said ” Hydrangea”, I always wanted one (which I find out later isn’t a herb at all). I then got some basil, thinking I might make some pesto with what it grows. I took the kids to look at the fish and mice and garden accessories while Sara designed the beds for me. My Sis chose a bright pallete of sunny yellow and deep red. The best thing about garden shopping in July, BOGO!! Score!!

The nursery had half grown tomato and pepper plants half off. Oh Em Gee, you could make a salad with what’s already growing on this plant.

IMG_5868

We decide to make Pizza Caprese instead!

Basil Pesto, tomato and fresh mozzarella thin crust pizza

IMG_5952

This is delish dinner in a flash! In 10 minutes you can have a slice of what summer tastes like!

Ingredients;

Premade thin pizza crust, or make your own.

Marscapone or cream cheese.

Pesto, fresh or from a jar.

Garden toms, yum!

Fresh mozzarella.

Crushed red pepper flake, garlic powder, salt, black pepper.

Directions;

Spread a thin layer of cream cheese or marscapone on the premade crust, sprinkle with crushed red pepper flake, garlic powder and black pepper.

Spread a thin layer of pesto.

Add thin slices of fresh tomatoes, salt.

Add slices of mozzarella that mirror the toms and place over the top.

Sprinkle with garlic powder more black pepper and broil on high for 8 mins.

Let it sit for 2 mins, slice, eat and fall in love.

Now back to the flower beds…

The front porch… check!

IMG_5939

IMG_5938

2013-07-051

9 thoughts on “I beg your pardon, you never promised me a rose garden but you did say you’d help me with my flower bed

  1. Sure glad you are all having a great time. So sorry your youngest have to be on public parade sans diapers! Love you all!

  2. Oh oh oh my, Iowa garden tomatoes! Makes me cry. I will never taste anything like it again down here in the oven we call AZ. So sad.

  3. Pingback: July flew by | thesisterslice

  4. What fun! Many thanks for following mine. I think we could have fun together 🙂
    My husband designs gardens for a living so, when I don’t know the answer, I ask him.

Leave a Reply

