Green

1-IMGP0591

My front yard today.No photo shop needed

I grew up in Illinois and I spent 20 years in Iowa. I am a midwestern gal.  I am seasoned to endure the seasons. When I lived in Kankakee, we lived in town. I remember flowers and grass and summer. I loved snow and spring and the colors of fall. Kankakee is flat. It is built on a grid. North means North. I like Illinois.

In Iowa I enjoyed the Mississippi River, the bluffs and the valley. Fireworks on the river, echoing down is like nothing else. I met and got to know pig farmers and had culinary delights at the State Fair! I like Iowa.

1-IMGP0555

I moved to Wisconsin a few years ago. When we settled summer was in full swing it was glorious!  We played and swam and picnicked and gardened bell to bell and we had a ball. Fall came and the colors were magnificent and we enjoyed the cooling of the evening and the crisp in the air. Then, WINTER hit. It was a long one. Winter here is harsh. I am not sure if it is because I am old or we live in the country now. I enjoy the wonder of the first flakes. I like a blanket of white at Christmas but this is different. These last few winters have been blizzards and ice storms, days without power (that means no toilet flushing, running water or heat, Ice storms and bone chilling cold). We had drifts up to my bedroom window and our last snow was in April. Some days, as I was sliding off the road into a pasture (yeah, more than once) I really thought I will die here in this frozen tundra and like a woolly mammoth, my remains found in the distant future and displayed in a museum.

Today. Today is smack dab in the middle of Summer. Everything is lush and vibrant and green. Every shade you can name. I spent hours behind a windshield earlier this week and I drank in the color! I feel like I need to save it up for this long gray days ahead. Maybe that is why I am writing this post. So I can remember in March that I will see this again.

Green Salad, Dressed!

Kale, Romaine, Spinach, Butter Lettuce–washed and dried or spun and chopped finely

Sugar Snap Peas–blanched 1 minute and shocked in ice water

Green Pepper–chopped

Cucumber–chopped

Green Onion–chopped

Parsley, Basil, Cilantro–washed and torn

1/4 cup Apple Cider Vinegar

1 tablespoon Dijon Mustard

juice 1/2 lemon

Olive oil

Salt  and Pepper

Shake together in a Ball Jar with lid. Pour over Green Greens and toss.

Sincerely, Sara

3 thoughts on “Green

  1. Pingback: July flew by | thesisterslice

  2. Pingback: Blanket of White | thesisterslice

Leave a Reply

