Pump-krispy treats or Pumpkin Spice Crispy Rice ? You decide!

rice

Amy’s Slice

Sometimes it’s the little things.

Like stepping on that first crunchy leaves.

Spotting the changing tree among its green peers.

Smelling someone’s fireplace.

Waking up to a chill and putting on your robe or comfy sweater before you leave your bedroom.

A week ago when I saw Pumpkin Spice marshmallows at the grocery store I picked them up because, well – why not? I thought they could melt in my coffee, ease a  sore throat or roast at the burn pit.

Then last night when it was busy around here and dinner was quick and not that special or tasty, we were scurrying around trying to get homework done before awana– I decided we needed dessert!

I don’t make the nightly meat, potatoes, veg and dessert of days gone by, so dessert is extra special when it appears. No matter where we are in the pay period we seem to have butter and rice krispies on hand. And thanks to my impulse buy of the pumpkin spice marshmallows last week we have treats waiting to be made.

And not just your run of the mill Crispy Rice Treats but a caramel, spicy explosion wrapped up in a crunch.

IMG_8641-001

When you’re in a rush and a little person is saying “I want to hold you mama”,  you can make and serve in less than 10 mins.

Look at the extensive ingredient list.

IMG_8657-001

Make it, sit back, have one with coffee and accept the accolades from a grateful family or teachers or friends or neighbors or church pot luck…

Honestly, Amy

kelloggs_maud

Sara’s slice

Amy and I talk…a lot. Some days we share our plans, menu and our insanity!  She told me what she was making…they sounded great! It is still pretty warm here so I feel bad running the air and the oven at the same time. I needed a dessert to bring to a family dinner.

IMGP2321

My pantry looked a bit different. I didn’t have those fancy-schmacy mellows, so I used the plain. I did however have 4 bottles of pumpkin pie spice?!? How did that happen? To my butter I added 1 teaspoon vanilla, 2 tablespoons pumpkin pie spice (Cinnamon, Nutmeg, Clove and Allspice) I added a pinch of salt too!

IMGP2322

YUM! I may or may not have stood over the sink nibbling on the spoon full of remnants! So Good. Warm, sweet, crispy, gooy goodness with a salty, nutty ,caramel flavor.

IMGP2325

There is my finished product! I love the color the spices turned the marshmallows. I didn’t cut one yet ’cause it is for dinner tonight…I doubt I’ll bring any leftovers home!

Sincerely, Sara

6 thoughts on “Pump-krispy treats or Pumpkin Spice Crispy Rice ? You decide!

  1. These look yummy! If I can find the pumpkin marsmallows, I’ll probably go with Amy’s version, being the “gourmet chef” that I am…. not! Thanks for sharing!

  2. Pingback: Ask Twily and Trixie

Leave a Reply

