Wild Plumb Buckle

IMGP2258

Last week on our trip to the Farmer’s Market, I saw these babies. Not grapes–Wild plumbs. I gave the man $3 and started thinking about what to do with them. They are sweet and tart–hard to just pop in your mouth for a snack cause they have a pit.  Juicy. I want to bake something.

First the prep. I washed and dried. I was hoping they would fit in my cherry pitter…just a tad too big. I did the “avocado” cut, running my knife around and twisting the fruit away from the stone.

You need….

1 1/2 cups AP flour

1 teaspoon each, baking soda, baking powder and salt

2 sticks butter, softened to room temperature

3 eggs, room temp too

1 cup sugar

1 teaspoon vanilla

1 teaspoon cinnamon

2 tablespoons raw sugar

2 tablespoons powdered sugar to finish

16 to 20 wild plumbs, sliced in half, pits removed

Cream together your butter and sugar until light and fluffy. Add eggs one at a time and vanilla and cinnamon . Add your dry ingredients, scrape down your bowl. Mix.

IMGP2281

I “greased” my spring form pan (the one with the buckle) with my papers from my sticks of butter, the way Gramma Betty used to. Pour and spread your thick batter into your pan first and then arrange your fruit. Sprinkle with raw or coarse sugar for a bit on crunch. Bake in a 350 50 min–do the toothpick check.

Unbuckle your cake and let it cool. I gave mine a light dusting of “snow” to finish. I made 2 of these, sent one to work with the Hubs. The pan came back empty the next morning….

IMGP2303

Serve warm or cool. Peaches, Blueberries, Plumbs, Strawberries….if you can’t find Wild Plumbs.

Sincerely, Sara

4 thoughts on “Wild Plumb Buckle

Leave a Reply

