Dishes & Dishpan cookies

My sister and I would have to take turns doing dishes after supper when we were growing up. There was no dishwasher, well except us.  When it was my turn to dry I would throw the dishes back in the sink and tell Sincerely they weren’t clean enough. She use to threaten me with the chicken knife.

Since moving into the convent I’ve been hand washing this action – daily.
IMG_8415-001

I dread it. I liked to hide the dirties in the dishwasher until it was full and ready to start. The problem I have now is staring at them while I make coffee or talk on the phone. It doesn’t bother me enough to wash them 3 times a day but when flies swarm or I smell a potpourri of meals gone by … I get a little crazy.

When I actually get around to wash the dishes a weird thing happens. I stand in the same place for about a half an hour. I look out the window and think or hum or day dream. I feel a sense of accomplishment when the sink is empty and cleaned and all my hard work is stacked, drying and shining. I also like the warm water on my hands (as long as there isn’t lettuce floating in the dishpan.

IMG_8417-001

After I did these dishes (because I can’t cook in a dirty dish filled kitchen) the girls and I whipped up a couple batches of dishpan cookies to celebrate.

Ingredients

  • 2 sticks (1/2 Pound) Butter (salted) Softened
  • 1/2 cup White Sugar
  • 1-1/2 cup Brown Sugar, Packed
  • 2 whole Large Eggs
  • 1 Tablespoon Vanilla Extract
  • 1-1/2 cup All-purpose Flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon Baking Soda
  • 1 teaspoon Baking Powder
  • 2 teaspoons Kosher Salt
  • 1-1/2 cup Oats (either Quick Or Regular)
  • 1/2 cup M & M’s (more To Taste)
  • 1/2 cup Walnuts, Chopped (more To Taste)
  • 3/4 cups Chocolate Chips (milk Or Semi-sweet)
  • 1/2 cup Crunchy Peanut Butter
  • 2-1/4 cups Rice Krispies

IMG_8820-001

IMG_8823-001IMG_8824-001

Instructions

Preheat oven to 375 degrees.

Cream butter with sugars until fluffy. Add eggs one at a time, beating well after each addition. Add vanilla and beat.

Combine flour, baking soda, baking powder, and kosher salt. Add to mixing bowl and mix till combined. After that, add in remaining ingredients in whatever quantity you prefer.

Add Rice Crispies at the very end, mixing until just combined.

IMG_8825-003

Use an ice cream scoop to scoop balls of dough onto a cookie sheet. Bake until golden brown.

IMG_8830-001

I’m actually going to scoop them into balls and freeze so that I can make a pan when I need to.(” Need” meaning. when it’s overcast or I’m hormonial or I’m depressed or companies coming over, etc.)  This recipe makes 12 dozen.

Honestly, Amy

6 thoughts on “Dishes & Dishpan cookies

  1. These cookies look delish Amy. Adding them to my “must make” list. My sister and I use to share the dishwashing duties growing up too. Of course there were disagreements around who was going to do what – lol… The funny part is… I have dishwasher now and I hate it. I don’t like the fuss of loading it just so (because my husband) the dishwasher patrolman seems to catch me if I just throw the dishes in there, and I hate unloading it just as much. So, I hand wash all my dishes and he runs the dishwasher. Go figure!

  2. Just want to let you know I made these yesterday and they are soooo delicious! I had to quick throw them in the freezer or I would have devoured half the batch! Thanks for a great recipe! 🙂

Leave a Reply

