A tale of two spaghettis

Sara and I were going to make our own “special” versions of the well-loved, go to on weeknight dish – spaghetti.

We thought we’d share it with you, our faithful and kind readers.

Then ALL of Sara’s kids got sick, at the same time. She wasn’t feeling like making gravy from scratch.

I on the other hand had already picked up the stuff I needed and was looking forward to it.

I actually like cooking up a storm on the weekend and my fam is down with eating left overs a few nights during the week.

I present to you; A tale of two spaghettis

The first tale opens up in my 50’s kitchen –

It was the best of afternoons – the sun was shining and the colors of fall are vibrant.

It was the worst of afternoons – the 2-year-old had just spilled powdered copier toner on the floor in the den.

The first spaghetti looks like this.

IMG_9225-001

This batch turned out almost like a bolognese. It depends on the jarred sauce I buy. Like the canned pumpkin, I let others make my sauce.

IMG_9217-001

I like using turkey. It has less fat and the finished texture is moist.

IMG_9220-001

I like to season my meat with garlic, onion, basil, S&P, crushed red pepper and italian seasoning.

IMG_9221-001

After it’s cooked for a few I add shredded carrot and celery and let em sweat. I like that I can sneak in some vege.

IMG_9223-001

We are mixers in this family. The al dente pasta soaks up the juicy goodness.  It’s also taste better after it sits for a while and the flavors marry.

My favorite part of this dish is the topping.

IMG_9224-001

The salty, creamy – fresh shredded cheese all over the top. I also drizzle a little olive oil on top before the cheese .

YUM!

My “baby” has always REALLY liked my pasghetti.

577329_4254884693063_1856920984_n-001

Now for the other spaghetti.

15738_1277851669098_345658_n

You’ll need a tan sweat shirt, a new mop, styrofoam balls or cones, yarn and fabric paint.

I wrapped the balls in yarn and cut apart the mop.

I used my hot glue gun to attach it. I lost all of my finger prints from hot glue burns which could come in handy if I ever decide to become a cat burglar. I drizzled the fabric paint all over to look like sauce.

My friend borrowed this costume the next year and wrapped her new baby in a homemade garlic bread bag.

Good times, Amy

One thought on “A tale of two spaghettis

Leave a Reply

