A Slice of My Life

a-slice-life-loafBy now you’ve heard that I am the youngest sister and final “slice” of thestisterslice. I am honored that my sisters have asked me to be a part of the slice. I don’t find my day to day nearly as funny or interesting as theirs, and I am certainly no fabulous chef like the two of them, but hopefully some of you can relate to my style and way of life…or at least find it a source of entertainment, and I mean in the laughing at me, not with me kind of way.

photo 5

imagesCA3PE4GOLike Sincerely and Amusingly, I was born in the good ole Midwest. I grew up there with my big sissies spoiling me, picking on me, being my best friends and worst enemies. We have always been a pretty close, tight-knit family, but I’m also quite different from my fam. I have a strong will, sometimes a hard head, and big dreams. At the age of 21 I decided Iowa just wasn’t cutting it for me anymore, and I was ready to explore a Floridadifferent part of this great country. The long, Midwest winters definitely played a part in my decision. I was ready to move somewhere warm and tropical, where I could get a good tan year-round (these are the important, hard-hitting deciding factors in a 21 year old girl’s life at the time). So in January 2005 I packed up my life and moved to the Sunshine State – Florida. Now, almost 9 years later, I call this place my home and couldn’t love it more.

Wedding PicI am married to the love of my life, Erik, who is also an Iowa boy. We have a 7 year old dog, Nala (my baby) and own a commercial landscape business. Thankfully, Erik and I work very well together. We each have our own strengths and don’t step on the other’s toes too often. Our main hobby is going to the beach and enjoying the beautiful Florida weather. Whether it’s our local spot, or a weekend trip down the coast, we have frequented many of Florida’s beaches and both agree that we couldn’t imagine living anywhere else…at least not anytime soon.

We are also both huge football fans. Although we love living in Florida, we do not stray from our FootballIowa roots and live for Iowa Hawkeyes football. Of course, we also root for my Alma Mater, UCF Knights. As for NFL, Erik grew up a Detroit Lions fan, and thanks to my first bro-n-law, JNRS, I am a Kansas City Chiefs fan. Erik even has me playing Fantasy Football with his buddies this year, and my competitive spirit keeps me on edge every Sunday.

Owning a business keeps us pretty busy, but we love to surround ourselves with our amazing family and friends as much as possible. Erik’s parents and brother live close by, along with my cousin. We make annual Holiday trips back to the Midwest and even try to get out to Arizona when we can to visit Erik’s other brother and his family. We are lucky to come from 2 incredible families with both sets of parents married over 40 years.

Family

We have get togethers with our friends as often as possible, so stay tuned for menu and party ideas. Whether it’s a corn hole tournament out at the farm or a themed dinner party, we use any excuse to get together and celebrate.

As for my cooking style, I didn’t even know how to boil pasta when I moved to my first apartment in Florida. Thankfully, I have come a long way since then, but I am still pretty basic. I try to live a healthy lifestyle, so I’m always looking for ways to lighten classic recipes. Living in Florida, we can grill year-round, and we take full advantage of that. Grilling is not only healthy, but tastes delicious. I am excited to share some of my easy, healthy recipes with you all!

I am new this whole blogosphere and am still figuring out why anyone wants to know my opinion comment subscribe follow likeon things or my basic recipes or about my life. So let me know what you’re interested in and what you’d like to see more of on thesisterslice. Leave a comment, follow us, subscribe. Between the 3 of us, we’re sure to have an answer…unless it’s about math, or physics, or science. Well, you get the point.

Honestly,

Hannah

 

7 thoughts on “A Slice of My Life

  1. Welcome, Hannah! I’m looking forward to having a window into your everyday life. Love you much and God bless you!

  2. Welcome to the blogging world, Hannah. (I’ve been here three years, and although I struggle for blogging ideas sometime, I can’t imagine NOT blogging!)
    Gorgeous wedding picture!
    Nice to “meet you”: I’m looking forward to more of your posts.

  3. Welcome, Hannah, to the Sister Slice! I am a friend of Sara’s (my daughter Sarah is her friend) and I’ve met Amy, but I don’t think I’ve met you. I love Florida…it’s one of my favorite places, after Iowa! We spend the month of February there in St Augustine Beach, but we have been going there as a family, in the summer for the last 32 years! One of my favorite things to do in February is to check out the farmer’s markets and cook with all my fresh goodies! It’s a nice respite from Iowa winters! Welcome!
    Jan Barker

  4. I want to know how you talked Amy out of the “Honestly” handle to take for yourself? (altho “Amusingly” fits her well. )

  5. Thank you Cindy, Dianna, Jan, Linda, Colonialist & Shanna!
    Jan, how can you not love FL, especially in Feb 🙂
    Linda, it was actually Amy’s last minute decision to switch me to “Honestly,” it’s because I am the ‘honest’ one and she’s the ‘amusing’ one, plus we liked how the titles fit with our names.
    Colonialist, I will definitely share more about our business in the near future. Stay tuned.
    Shanna, yes, we love that we can stay active year round in FL! I jog outdoors, my hubby body surfs in the Atlantic waves, we were engaged on a canoe… Sure beats being cooped up during the long Midwest winters!

Leave a Reply

