The Big 3-0

NovemberNovember is an exciting time of year. As soon as the Halloween decorations come down, the Holiday Season comes alive. Everyone becomes a little jollier, looking forward to spending time with family, planning feasts, being Thankful for who and what they have been blessed with. I absolutely love this time of year for all of those reasons, but for me, a very important day comes every year just before Thanksgiving, MY BIRTHDAY! And this year was the big 3-0!

30th bday

I can’t really believe I’m officially 30. I’m not going to lie, I used to envision 30 as more “mature,” more established, an official adult once the 20’s are over. But I feel like the same 20-something working hard everyday to achieve those things. Maybe that will come with time, maybe when I’m 39. But for now, I will keep enjoying life as I usually do and this birthday was no different, in fact a more fabulous celebration was in order.

Growing up in the Midwest, my birthday was always cold and frigid, sometimes even snowing. Not the case in sunny Florida, November is one of the most beautiful months of the year. Typically the sun is still shining but the heavy heat and humidity have subsided leaving a nice 75-80 degree temp. So in my usual style, I planned a beach getaway. We went to Indian Rocks Beach, which is right next to Clearwater on the Gulf of Mexico side. We found a great vacation rental right on the beach, in fact our private balcony led straight down to the sand and water. And some of our best friends joined us, which made it so fun and memorable.

This was my type of celebration! I don’t need a big party, a trip to Vegas, VIP treatment. Just give me a beach chair, the sun, the sand and the rolling waves of the ocean (or Gulf). I can’t describe it, little beach getaways like this do something for my soul. It was so relaxing and rejuvenating. And it made me feel just fine about turning 30. I am a little sad to be back from paradise to everyday life, but I’m looking forward to the next month of fun, family and festivities!

Honestly,

Hannah

 

4 thoughts on “The Big 3-0

Leave a Reply

