Season’s Eating

I have been so busy living life that I haven’t had a chance to blog about it!  Holidays are so hectic around here.  I had most of the family here for Thanksgiving weekend. I knew I would be cooking all day and eating all weekend–I wanted something fast, easy, affordable and festive to serve my family for breakfast.

I picked these up in the reduced bread bin at the Big Box store. I tucked them in the freezer ready when I needed them. These breads make fantastic french toast but I wanted something different.

The night before we cubed the bread, browned some maple sausage and assembled our special breakfast.

1/2 loaf of the bread, 6 eggs, 1 cup cream, dash of vanilla and a pinch of salt. Place your cubed bread in an 8 inch cassarole and pour the custard over. Sprinkle your sausage on top. Cover with a bit of plastic wrap and park in the fridge overnight.

Next morning heat your oven to 375

.

While your coffee brews, bake for 35 to 45 min. until the egg puffs around your sweet and savory breakfast.  Warm some maple syrup and maybe serve with a dollop of  whipped cream.

IMGP3095

Paper plates or gramma’s china. Pour yourself a second cup and enjoy.

Sincerely, Sara

Leave a Reply

