A Birthday Bonfire

Chili 17

I am lucky to have some amazing in-laws. We are a close-knit family and like to have fun and celebrate together. When my M-I-L’s birthday rolled around last week, we let her decide on what to do – nice dinner out, shopping, spa day? She decided on a bonfire and weeny roast with the fam (one of the many reasons I love her).

As hostess, I thought I should offer more sustenance than just hot dogs and s’mores, so I decided to make Turkey Chili – a perfect topper or side to the franks and oh so good in the cool weather.

Chili 3

1 lb. Lean Ground Turkey

1/2 White Onion

1 Green Bell Pepper

1 Large Can Crushed Tomatoes

1 Large Can Tomato Puree

2 16-Ounce Cans Light Red Kidney Beans

1 16-Ounce Can Chili Bean in Own Sauce

1/4 – 1/2 Cup Chili Powder (Depending on Taste)

1 tsp Cayenne Pepper

Crushed Pepper Flakes to Taste

Cook ground turkey in skillet with onion and bell pepper. Once cooked, drain and pour into crockpot with remaining ingredients. Turn the crockpot on high until chili starts to boil, then turn to low. Total crockpot time 1.5 – 2 hours.

Garnish with Shredded Cheese, Sour Cream, Fresh Jalapeños, Cilantro, Oyster Crackers, Fritos or Garlic Bread. YUM!

It was a beautiful January Florida evening with temps in the 60’s. The bonfire was blazing, especially thanks to the dry Christmas trees we kept adding. The dogs (Oscar Meyer, not our 4-legged family members) were delish, especially topped with chili. Instead of a birthday cake we had s’mores – with candles and all.

Mom S. said she had a great bonfire birthday that reminded her of the girl scout days. We all enjoyed being together with good food, family and lots of laughs. Happy Birthday Mom!

Honestly,

Hannah

6 thoughts on “A Birthday Bonfire

  1. I am one with your sister. I have such lovely memories of wiener roasts and flaming marshmallows I asked for that on one of my important birthdays. I still keep marshmallows in the pantry in case the urge to go way back in time comes upon me. Virginia

Leave a Reply

