Sausage, Potato & Kale Soup – a “best over”

soup

On a cold and dreary winter day a savory, hot bowl of soup makes dinner feel comforting.

I know, you’re not supposed to use food for comfort, its only purpose it to fuel your body (envision me rolling my eyes). I’m on the mend and soup is what I’m a cravin’.

This recipe is nothing new. It’s all over the net. It’s a my version of a version of a version of a copy of a soup you can get at a Italian-ish franchise named after a green round thing you find on a relish tray.

Here’s how I do it;

 

I sliced up 2 big russets (that was more than enough) and I boiled them all by themselves in salted boiling water.

IMG_0897-001

I didn’t want all that starchy goo in my finished product. I learned that with my wonton soup that I made for guests in the fall.

Look at that paste. I drained them in cool water and set aside.

IMG_0901-001I like to add red pepper flakes to everything, I also added chopped onion and garlic to the italian sausage, browned and drained.

Look at all that kale! I feel like when we slurp it up a gojillian vitamins and minerals will be ingested into our weary, sun deprived systems. I throw the kale into the silver dutch oven that is full of boiling chicken stock. I let it cook for some time (kale is a tough customer).

I place back in the meat, potato into the kale and broth.

Ok, the favorite part of this recipe is adding in the heavy cream. I like broth based soups but who doesn’t like creamy cream soup.

It’s not to heavy but its satisfying. I crumbled bacon crisp bacon on the top and I hated it. It wasn’t good, leave that off.

Here’s the handy recipe in case you want to try it out.

Craving soup, Amy

1lb Italian sausage

2 Russet baking potatoes, sliced in half and in half

1 small white onion

1 tbl minced garlic

3 cups of rinsed kale

8 chicken bullion cubes

2 quarts of water

1 cups of heavy cream

Salt & Pepper and Red Pepper Flakes to taste

 

 

 

 

5 thoughts on “Sausage, Potato & Kale Soup – a “best over”

  1. I make The Pioneer Woman’s version of this soup and we love it even more than the version at the restaurant you alluded to! It’s just a fabulous soup! (I love soups!) Thanks for reminding me of it!

  2. This is a great soup for cold weather. I like making it with Spanish style chorizo or cured Portuguese chourico. This is a great one pot meal. Meat, taters and veggie. Great post.

Leave a Reply

