Coffee, Tea and Me

I started drinking coffee at the ripe old age of 11. I used to ride a church bus early on Sunday mornings to pick up kids for Sunday school. That old bus never warmed up! I would get a cup ‘o burnt Amoco coffee just to warm my fingers….

Church-bus

I love coffee. I remember my first Starbuck…better than my first kiss. I once had a cup of coffee in France with a piece of dark chocolate, delivered to my table with a little pot of cream by a man wearing a beret…True Story! I think that was my favorite. Every morning I stumble to the pot and beg the maker to drip faster.

coffee

Well, as everyone on the planet knows this has been a harsh, cold winter. I have a chill that is hard to shake. I can’t drink caffeine all dang day so I put tea on the shopping list. Tea. I like tea I guess. Tea hot with honey, with ice, even the kind from Long Island….

IMGP3544

I was surprised to see the 9 million flavors of tea at the Wmart. I chose blackberry vanilla for my tea trial. How bad could that be? I dug out my tea-pot –( How did I end up with this tea-pot anyway?) and something amazing happened. Sitting down to drink a cup of warm, perfumed tea is a wonderful thing! I know I am not the only person with burdens and worries, fears and failures but mine have seemed to grow in these last few weeks. This cup of tea has been a great calming comfort. Just like coffee gives me a shove into my day, my cup of tea calms and clears and comforts.

healthyageing

The most trying hours in life are between four o’clock and the evening meal. A cup of tea at this time adds a lot of comfort and happiness. ~Royal S. Copeland

A cup of tea is a cup of peace. ~Soshitsu Sen XV

Water is the mother of tea, a teapot its father, and fire the teacher. ~Chinese Proverb

IMGP3194-001

I know spring will come and winter is not forever and I know my worry is a waste of time. Now back to work, see you tomorrow, my cup o’ tea.

What gets you through the winter?

Sincerely, Sara

11 thoughts on “Coffee, Tea and Me

  1. I love tea! My mom is a tea junkie and I was raised on hot tea with cream and sugar. Feeling sick, have some “magic tea” and cinnamon toast. It cured all our problems growing up. Christmas morning starts with a pot of tea while opening presents. Ah, magical powers I tell ya! I now have my boys drinking it too (decaf of course).

  2. I never acquired a taste for coffee and, therefore, do not understand the fascination with Starbucks. Everyone tells me that I am missing out.

  3. I have weird tastes and like to mix my drinks – coffee and chicory, chicory and tea, fruit tea and green tea. I add green tea to almost any hot drink so I can get its goodness without having to drink it neat (ugh. Not a big fan of plain green tea).
    But my body doesn’t really respond to drink like many people’s: coffee doesn’t revive me and tea doesn’t calm me. I just drink anything when I’m thirsty and usually any drink will do.

  4. I started drinking coffee in my 30’s, and it changed my life. This is because I am not a morning person. I found out that if I start my day with coffee, I can get up at any time, just give me an hour before you talk to me!:) I also drink tea, sometimes hot and sometimes cold in the afternoon, depending on the season. It’s the little things in life that make a difference sometimes, isn’t it?

Leave a Reply

